Stream Superchunk’s new album, I Hate Music


Superchunk I Hate Music

Alt-rock icons Superchunk are streaming their tenth studio album, I Hate Music, in full one week ahead of its release date (August 20th via Merge Records). Take a listen now at NPR.

According to the band, the title “isn’t tongue-in-cheek, but it’s really more a question than a statement: When you’re 20, lazy co-workers and romantic missteps number among your biggest worries; two decades later, life’s bigger questions knock louder and louder, demanding answers.”

The band describes the 11-track album as the “dark twin” of 2010’s Majesty Shredding, adding: “I Hate Music is an album about love more than anything else: love of life, love of living, love of people, and yeah, love of music. It defies its own title so completely and diligently that it never even seems like a fair fight: There’s no pain this deep or yearning this severe without the type of love earned over a lifetime. It’s dark in here, but if we conjure the right words and sounds, maybe we’ll find our way out.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the album’s teaser trailer:

I Hate Music Tracklist:
01. Overflows
02. Me & You & Jackie Mittoo
03. Void
04. Staying Home
05. Low F
06. Trees of Barcelona
07. Breaking Down
08. Out of the Sun
09. Your Theme
10. FOH
11. What Can We Do