Yuck announce new album, Glow & Behold, listen to "Middle Sea"


yuck artwork

Yuck continue onward sans original frontman Daniel Blumbererg with the release of a new album, Glow & Behold, due out October 1st via Fat Possum/Pharmacy. As previously reported, Blumberg left the band earlier this year to pursue his own solo project, with Bloom, Mariko Doi, and Jonny Rogoff carrying on as a trio.

The follow-up to 2011’s excellent self-titled debut features 11 new tracks, including last month’s “Rebirth” and “Middle Sea”, which premiered today on Huw Stephens’ BBC Radio 1 show.

Whereas “Rebirth” was more My Bloody Valentine than Dinosaur Jr., this latest single is a return to more rollicking pastures. Devotees of their self-titled LP will find more angst-ridden ’90s nostalgia in the track’s driving rhythm section, sweltering guitar melodies, and layers of warm fuzz. But new frontman Max Bloom’s vocals also bring something new to the lo-fi equation, with his uneven croon helping to facilitate new levels of youthful unease and discontent. Listen in below.

Glow & Behold Tracklist:
01. Sunrise In Maple Shade
02. Out of Time
03. Lose My Breath
04. Memorial Fields
05. Middle Sea
06. Rebirth
07. Somewhere
08. Nothing New
09. How Does It Feel
10. Twilight In Maple Shade (Chinese Cymbals)
11. Glow & Behold

Leave a comment