Stream Arctic Monkeys’ new album, AM


Arctic Monkeys AM artwork

Arctic Monkeys are streaming their new album, AM, in full one week ahead of its released date (September 10th via Domino Records). Take a listen on iTunes.

The 12-track effort was produced by James Ford and co-produced by Ross Orton at Sage & Sound Recording in Los Angeles and Rancho De La Luna in Joshua Tree. Guest contributors include Queens of the Stone Age frontman Josh Homme, Pete Thomas (Elvis Costello), and Bill Ryder-Jones (The Coral). What’s more, the words of poet John Cooper Clarke are featured on the track “I Wanna Be Yours”.

According to the label, the album displays a pronounced interest in the G-funk sub-genre, with the band drawing inspiration from the likes of Warren G and Mac Dre. “(The album is) the malt liquor of Death Row records chased down by at the very least a Bacardi Breezer of what (the band) calls ‘girlfriend music – the music our girlfriends were listening to at school when we were into Dr Dre.’”

“With people like (an) Aaliyah,” adds frontman Alex Turner “what’s sometimes seen as being cheesy is actually a real coolness about the melodies, and we wanted to get a bit of the way that music moves into what we were doing. That also went hand in hand – in our minds at least – with Seventies rock ‘n’ roll: all those bands like Black Sabbath and the Groundhogs that we listen to very loud in the dressing room when we’re on tour… We call them ‘thin drum-stand bands’, because whatever the drums are standing on sounds like it’s a bit wobbly, but that’s part of what’s so great about them.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?”

AM Tracklist:
01. Do I Wanna Know?
02. R U Mine?
03. One For The Road
04. Arabella
05. I Want It All
06. No. 1 Party Anthem
07. Mad Sounds
08. Fireside
09. Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?
10. Snap Out Of It
11. Knee Socks
12. I Wanna Be Yours