Stream Gary Numan’s new album, Splinter



Electro pioneer Gary Numan is streaming his new album, Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind), in full ahead of its release date (October 15th via his own Machine Music label). Take a listen at below (via Noisey).

The 12-track collection marks Numan’s 20th album to date and first full-length effort of original material since 2006’s Jagged. (His last LP, 2011’s Dead Son Rising, was comprised of rehashed demos.) It was recorded in Numan’s home studio in Los Angeles with producer Ade Fenton and features contributions from Nine Inch Nails guitarist Robin Finck.

According to a press press release, “Splinter sounds like no one else while utilizing new sounds and ideas. Perhaps it’s the voice — one of the most distinctive in rock music and often associated with machines and icy alienation, but for those who are drawn to Numan’s songs, his singing is strangely emotional, almost soulful in places. And if you like that side of his writing, you certainly won’t be disappointed with the new album where there are four or five tracks that set Numan’s vocals against moody atmospheric slow-burners to stunning effect.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind) Tracklist:
01. I Am Dust
02. Here In The Black
03. Everything Comes Down To This
04. The Calling
05. Splinter
06. Lost
07. Love Hurt Bleed
08. A Shadow Falls On Me
09. Where I Can Never Be
10. We’re The Unforgiven
11. Who Are You
12. My Last Day

In support of the album, Numan will tour across the U.S. throughout the fall, including two dates supporting Nine Inch Nail and a slot at Mountain Oasis. Consult the full schedule below.

Gary Numan 2013 Tour Dates:
10/25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
10/26 – Asheville, NC @ Mountain Oasis Electronic Music Summit
10/27 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
10/29 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
10/30 – Sunrise, FL @ BB&T Center *
10/31 – Orlando, FL @ Amway Center *

* = w/ Nine Inch Nails