Listen: Lorde covers Tears for Fears’ “Everybody Wants To Rule The World”


Lorde’s contribution to the forthcoming Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack has been revealed. The 17-year-old pop star offers up a unique take on Tears for Fears’ “Everybody Wants To Rule the World”, re-imagining the peppy ’80s hit as a dark, bone-chilling, and sinister affair. It’s likely the creepiest version you’ll ever hear. Listen in below (via Vulture).

For more of the soundtrack, check out Coldplay’s “Atlas” and The National’s “Lean”. It’s officially due out November 19th via Republic Records, with the film following in theaters on November 22nd.

Hunger Games: Catching Fire Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. Coldplay – “Atlas”
02. Of Monsters and Men – “Silhouettes”
03. Sia (feat. The Weeknd & Diplo) – “Elastic Heart”
04. The National – “Lean”
05. Christina Aguilera – “We Remain”
06. The Weeknd – “Devil May Cry”
07. Imagine Dragons – Who We Are”
08. Lorde – “Everybody Wants to Rule the World”
09. The Lumineers – “Gale Song”
10. Ellie Goulding – “Mirrors”
11. Patti Smith – “Capital Letter”
12. Santigold – “Shooting Arrows at the Sky”
13. Mikky Ekko – “Place for Us”
14. Phantogram – “Lights”
15. Antony & the Johnsons – “Angel on Fire”


Follow Consequence