Uncle Tupelo’s No Depression to be reissued, stream early demo of “I Got Drunk”


On January 28th, Legacy Recordings will reissue Uncle Tupelo‘s widely acclaimed debut LP, 1990’s No Depression, as a special two-disc expanded edition featuring rare and previously unreleased material. Of course, the influential folk-rock trio would later birth Wilco and Son Volt.

Included, and of particular interest, is the recently unearthed 10-song demo tape Not Forever, Just Now, recorded by the original trio of Jeff Tweedy, Jay Farrar, and Mike Heidorn in 1989. Below, listen to one of the demo tape’s tracks, an early version of “I Got Drunk” (via Rolling Stone).

The reissue will also include bonus tracks that appear on the album’s 2003 reissue; songs taken from their 1983 self-released Live and Otherwise cassette; and five cuts off the band’s 1987 demo Colorblind and Rhymeless.

In addition, Legacy will issue a limited edition seven-inch vinyl single of Uncle Tupelo’s “I Wanna Be Your Dog” b/w “Commotion” for Record Store Black Friday on November 29th.

No Depression: Legacy Edition Tracklist:

Disc One

No Depression (Original Album)
01. Graveyard Shift
02. That Year
03. Before I Break
04. No Depression
05. Factory Belt
06. Whiskey Bottle
07. Outdone
08. Train
09. Life Worth Livin’
10. Flatness
11. So Called Friend
12. Screen Door
13. John Hardy

No Depression Era Odds & Ends
14. Left In The Dark
15. Won’t Forget
16. I Got Drunk
17. Sin City
18. Whiskey Bottle (Live Acoustic)

Disc Two

Not Forever, Just For Now (No Depression Demos, Produced By Matt Allison, 1989)
01. Outdone
02. That Year
03. Whiskey Bottle
04. Flatness
05. I Got Drunk
06. Before I Break
07. Life Worth Livin’
08. Train
09. Graveyard Shift
10. Screen Door

From Live & Otherwise (Self-Released Cassette, 1988)
No Depression
12. Blues Die Hard

From Colorblind and Rhymeless (1987 Cassette Demo)
13. Before I Break
14. I Got Drunk
15. Screen Door
16. Blues Die Hard
17. Pickle River


Follow Consequence