Xiu Xiu announces Angel Guts: Red Classroom, stream “Stupid In The Dark”


As previously reported, art-rockers Xiu Xiu will be releasing a record of Nina Simone covers on December 2nd. But that’s not the only thing on the way, as today the band announced a new album of original material, Angel Guts: Red Classroom, due out February 4th via Polyvinyl. The tenth album from the morose, death-obsessed outfit is said to find them in “unquestionably their darkest hour,” exploring topics such as “racialized sex, double suicide, double penetration, criminality, [and] fear of physical harm.”

For a taste of the truly darker side, the band’s unveiled the lead single “Stupid In The Dark”. Here, metallic synths are pinned down by the crushing weight of unrelenting drum machines and frontman Jamie Stewart’s death rattle vocals. A little bit of light shines through the cracks of the chorus, where the song is lifted up by atmospheric keys and Stewart’s histrionic singing. Listen in below.

Angel Guts: Red Classroom Tracklist:
01. Angel Guts:
02. Archie’s Fades
03. Stupid in the Dark
04. Lawrence Liquors
05. Black Dick
06. New Life Immigration
07. EL Naco
08. Adult Friends
09. The Silver Platter
10. Bitter Melon
11. A Knife in the Sun
12. Cinthya’s Unisex
13. Botanica de Los Angeles
14. :Red Classroom


Follow Consequence