Black Lips announce new album, Underneath the Rainbow


Atlanta garage-rock outfit the Black Lips will release their seventh studio album, Underneath The Rainbow, on March 18th via Vice Records. The 12-track album was recorded over the last year in New York City and Nashville, with latter sessions helmed by The Black Keys’ Patrick Carney.

In an interview with Rolling Stone, bassist Jared Swilley said the band shifted away from the poppier undertones of 2011’s Arabia Mountain to embrace more of a Southern rock and country aesthetic, adding, “Our main influences (this time) are pretty traditional. It’s roots music.” Lyrically, though, the band maintain their pronounced wild side: “Boys in the Woods” is about “doing bathtub drugs and drinking bathtub gin”, while “Smiling” was inspired by Swilley’s brief prison stint last year.

Consult the full tracklist below.

Underneath The Rainbow Tracklist:
01. Drive By Buddy
02. Smiling
03. Make You Mine
04. Funny
05. Dorner Party
06. Justice After All
07. Boys in the Woods
08. Waiting
09. Do the Vibrate
10. I Don’t Wanna Go Home
11. Dandelion Dust
12. Dog Years

While there’s no release date for the first single, the band’s already previewed several album tracks live. Watch footage of “Drive By Buddy” and “Boys in the Woods” below.

“Drive By Buddy”:

“Boys in the Woods”:


Follow Consequence