Stream: Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks’ new album, Wig Out at Jagbags


Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks’ sixth studio album, Wig Out at Jagbags, is streaming in full one week ahead of its release date (January 7th via Matador Records). Take a listen now over at Amazon.

Recording took place in a Dutch farmhouse near Amsterdam, where Malkmus self-produced alongside longtime collaborator Remko Schouten. It marks the debut of new Jicks drummer Jake Morris, who’s replaced Janet Weiss, and also features vocal contributions from Fran Healy of Travis. (Malkmus lives full-time in Berlin and is next-door neighbors with Healy.)

In a press release, Malkmus described the album’s inspiration:

Wig Out at Jagbags is inspired by Cologne, Germany, Mark Von Schlegell, Rosemarie Trockel, Von Spar and Jan Lankisch, Can and Gas; Stephen Malkmus-imagined Weezer/Chili Peppers, Sic Alps, UVA in the late 80’s, NYRB, Aroma Charlottenburg, inactivity, Jamming, Indie guys trying to sound Memphis, Flipper, Pete Townshend, Pavement, The Joggers, The NBA and home life in the 2010’s…”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Cinnamon and Lesbians”.

Wig Out at Jagbags Tracklist:
01. Planetary Motion
02. The Janitor Revealed
03. Lariat
04. Houston Hades
05. Shibboleth
06. J Smoov
07. Rumble at the Rainbo
08. Chartjunk
09. Independence Street
10. Scattegories
11. Cinnamon and Lesbians
12. Surreal Teenagers


Follow Consequence