Bob Dylan’s 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration receives deluxe reissue

In 1992, the 30th anniversary of Bob Dylan’s career was celebrated with a star-studded tribute concert at Madison Square Garden. The entire show was broadcast live on Pay-Per-View and later partially released on CD and VHS. Twenty-two years later, The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration is receiving a deluxe reissue on DVD/Blu-ray and a new CD from Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings.

Due March 4th, the reissue will feature performances by the likes of Neil Young, Lou Reed, Eric Clapton, The Band, Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash, Willie Nelson, Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder and Mike McCready, Stevie Wonder, and what would be the last public performance by George Harrison. Every performer covers a Dylan classic, while the man himself appears for a few songs solo and with guests.

A reissue of the concert has been in the works for years, but only recently was the rights red tape overcome. “[The footage] had been sitting in Japan at NHK,” an insider told Rolling Stone. “Japan was an early adopter in HD and they had HD cameras at the event. What you’re seeing now is their cut of the show, which nobody had ever seen before.”

This footage includes a previously unreleased soundcheck recording of Sinead O’Connor covering “I Believe in You” and also her being heckled off the stage and into Kris Kristofferson’s arms after fighting through “War”; O’Connor’s infamous SNL appearance where she tore up a picture of the Pope had occurred just days before. But other parts of the show were left out of the reissue, like Neil Young’s cover of “Forever Young”, due to time constraints, and Dylan’s acoustic performance of “Song to Woody”. “As frustrating at this sounds, his guitar wasn’t recorded,” the source told Rolling Stone. “All you’re hearing is a faint guitar and Bob’s voice and we just couldn’t use that.”

A never-before-heard soundcheck of Eric Clapton doing “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” and a 40-minute documentary with new interviews and newly released backstage footage are also included. Find the full tracklisting beneath a trailer for the release below.

The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration – Deluxe Edition Tracklist:
01. John Mellencamp – “Like a Rolling Stone”
02. Stevie Wonder – “Blowin’ in the Wind”
03. Lou Reed – “Foot of Pride”
04. Eddie Vedder/Mike McCready – “Masters of War”
05. Tracy Chapman – “The Times They Are A-Changin'”
06. June Carter Cash/Johnny Cash – “It Ain’t Me Babe”
07. Willie Nelson – “What Was It You Wanted”
08. Kris Kristofferson – “I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight”
09. Johnny Winter – “Highway 61 Revisited”
10. Ron Wood – “Seven Days”
11. Richie Havens – “Just Like a Woman”
12. The Clancy Brothers and Robbie O’Connell with Tommy Makem – “When the Ship Comes In”
13. Sinead O’Connor – “War”
14. Neil Young – “Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues”
15. Neil Young – “All Along the Watchtower”
16. Chrissie Hynde – “I Shall Be Released”
17. Eric Clapton – “Love Minus Zero, No Limit” (DVD/Blu-rau only)
18. Eric Clapton – “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright”
19. The O’Jays – “Emotionally Yours”
20. The Band – “When I Paint My Masterpiece”
21. Mary Chapin Carpenter/Rosanne Cash/Shawn Colvin – “You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere”
22. George Harrison – “Absolutely Sweet Marie”
23. Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers – “License to Kill”
24. Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers – “Rainy Day Women #12 & 35”
25. Roger McGuinn – “Mr Tambourine Man”
26. Bob Dylan – “It’s Alright, Ma”
27. Bob Dylan/Roger McGuinn/Tom Petty/Neil Young/Eric Clapton/George Harrison – “My Back Pages”
28. Everyone – “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door”
29. Bob Dylan – “Girl of the North Country”

DVD/Blu-ray bonus tracks:
01. John Mellencamp – “Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat”
02. Nancy Griffith with Carolyn Hester – “Boots of Spanish Leather”
03. Booker T. & The M.G.’s – “Gotta Serve Somebody”
04. Behind the Scenes

CD bonus tracks:
01. Sinéad O’Connor – “I Believe In You” (soundcheck)
02. Eric Clapton – “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” (soundcheck)


Follow Consequence