Listen: Angel Olsen’s new song, “Hi-Five”

angel olsen

As previously reported, singer-songwriter Angel Olsen will deliver an “energy and voice not yet heard before” when she releases her sophomore album, Burn Your Fire for No Witness, on February 18th via her new label Jagjaguwar. Already she’s hinted at new musical undertakings with the fuzzy garage-rock ballad “Forgiven/Forgotten”, and today she continues her aural expansion by unveiling “Hi-Five”.

Dialing down the fuzz and angst a few notches, Olsen lands at a slightly more alt-country aesthetic, with feedback-laden guitars taking the place of the usually mournful slide guitar. Once again, though, her voice is the emotional focal point, hinting at deep reserves of pained longing and endless loneliness like a hybrid Jenny Lewis-Loretta Lynn. Tune in below.

Burn Your Fire for No Witness Tracklist:
01. Unfucktheworld
02. Forgiven/Forgotten
03. Hi-Five
04. White Fire
05. High & Wild
06. Lights Out
07. Stars
08. Iota
09. Dance Slow Decades
10. Enemy
11. Window


Follow Consequence