Spiritualized, Beach House, The Antlers, and more make music using sounds from space


Earlier this week, Youth Lagoon unveiled “Worms”, the first track off an upcoming space-themed compilation from Lefse Records. Now, more details have been revealed: due out for Record Store Day 2014 (April 19th), The Space Project also features contributions from The AntlersBeach HouseMutual BenefitPorcelain Raft, Jesu, and Spiritualized (appearing as The Spiritualized Mississippi Space Program).

Each of the 14 tracks were recorded using audio taken from the Voyager I and Voyager II space probes. According to a press release, the sounds utilized are actually “electromagnetic radiation fluctuations in the magnetosphere of the planets, moons, and large asteroids the Voyager probes traveled near.” Because each celestial body differs in mass in size, each generates a unique sound pattern. Thus, the tracks were thematically paired up by the celestial body they each sampled.

The Space Project will be available on vinyl, CD, and as a 7-inch box set. Below, revisit Youth Lagoon’s “Worms” followed by the interstellar tracklist.

The Space Project Tracklist:

A. Porcelain Raft – “Giove”
B. The Antlers – “Jupiter”

A. Mutual Benefit – “Terraform”
B. Anna Meredith – “Miranda”

A. The Spiritualized Mississippi Space Program – “Always Together With You (The Bridge Song)”
B. The Holydrug Couple – “Amphitrites Lost”

A. Youth Lagoon – “Worms”
B. Blues Control – “Blues Danube”

A. Beach House – “Saturn Song”
B. Zomes: “Moonlet”

A. Absolutely Free – “EARTH I”
B. Jesu – “Song of Earth”

A. Benoit & Sergio – “Long Neglected Words”
B. Larry Gus – “Sphere of Io (For Georg Cantor)”