Listen to Screaming Females’ ferocious live version of “Lights Out”


Photo by Heather Kaplan

Screaming Females will soon return with their first live album. Entitled Live at the Hideout, the 14-track effort was recorded at Chicago’s The Hideout on January 30th and 31st with Steve Albini at the helm. Albini and Timothy Powell spent those two nights working out of Powell’s “Metro Mobile” truck (a control room on wheels), which was parked in a snow-covered alley behind the venue.

Our first taste of this LP comes in the form of a simmering, seven-minute rendition of “Lights Out”. While the original version — off 2009’s Power Move — packed some major heat, this live update tacks on three extra minutes and sounds engulfed in 200% more fury and fire. Crank up the volume and listen in below.

Live at the Hideout Tracklist:
01. MC Intro
02. Leave It All Up To Me
03. Foul Mouth
04. Buried In The Nude
05. Extinction
06. A New Kid
07. Lights Out
08. Sheep
09. It All Means Nothing
10. Starve The Beat
11. Little Anne
12. Pretty Okay
13. Baby Jesus
14. Boyfriend

See the band in the flesh on their tour alongside The Julie Ruin:

Screaming Females 2014 Tour Dates:
04/01 – Easthampton, MA @ Flywheel
04/03 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
04/04 – Montreal, QC @ Il Motore
04/05 – Toronto, ON @ Mod Club
04/08 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch
04/11 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls
04/12 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Asbury Lanes