Listen: Trust’s explosive new song “Capitol”


Toronto artist Robert Alfons, a.k.a. Trust, is gearing up to release his second album, Joyland, on March 4th via Arts & Crafts. Spanning 11 tracks, the LP sees him moving away from the murky goth-pop of his debutTRST (then, a collaborative effort with former member Maya Postepski of Austra), opting for brighter, more sweeping synth-pop arrangements.

Joyland is described as “an eruption of guts, feels, and joy”, and its newest single, the volcanic and all-consuming “Capitol”, does that characterization total justice. While the verses could read as low-key and maybe even monotonous, once the track taps into that larger-than-life, MGMT-meets-’80s-dance-party chorus, there’s no turning back or need for second-guessing. Take a listen below (via Gorilla vs. Bear).

Joyland Tracklist:
01. Slightly Floating
02. Geryon
03. Capitol
04. Joyland
05. Are We Arc?
06. Icabod
07. Four Gut
08. Rescue, Mister
09. Lost Souls/Eelings
10. Peer Pressure
11. Barely