Nas to release 20th anniversary reissue of Illmatic, performing album in full on US tour


This year marks the 20th anniversary of Nas’ earth-shattering debut, Illmatic. As you might expect, a number of projects have been lined up to help commemorate the occasion, including a deluxe reissue of the album, a new documentary, and a world tour during which Nas will perform the album in full.

Due out April 15th, Illmatic XX will include the newly remastered album as well as a second disc of rare remixes, unreleased demos and freestyles. Among them is “It Ain’t Hard to Tell (Stink Mix)”, which is streaming over at Rap Genius.

The accompanying documentary, entitled Time is Illmatic, will receive release later in the year. Created by first-time filmmakers One9 (director/producer) and Erik Parker (writer/producer), the film delves into the making of Illmatic; the social conditions that created it; and the musical legacy passed down from Nas’ Mississippi-born father and celebrated jazz musician, Olu Dara, according to a press release.

As for the tour, it will kick off with a performance at Washington, DC’s Kennedy Center on March 29th as well an appearance at Coachella in April. Further dates will be announced in the coming weeks.

Illmatic XX Tracklist:

Disc 1: Remastered original album
01. The Genesis
02. N.Y. State Of Mind
03. Life’s A Bitch
04. The World Is Yours
05. Halftime
06. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)
07. One Love
08. One Time 4 Your Mind
09. Represent
10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell

Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio
01. I’m A Villain (previously unreleased)
02. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)
03. Halftime (Butcher Remix)
04. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Remix) (promo single)
05. One Love (LG Main Mix)
06. Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix) (promo single)
07. One Love (One L Main Mix)
08. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)
09. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix) (UK single)
10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix) (UK single)