The Melvins’ Buzz Osborne announces debut solo album, This Machine Kills Artists

For the last 30 years, Buzz Osborne has helmed The Melvins. On June 3rd, he’ll go at it solo for the first time with the release of his debut full-length, This Machine Kills Artists, due out via Ipecac Recordings.

The album is all-acoustic, though Osborne stressed that won’t make him any less of a bastard: “I have no interest in sounding like a crappy version of James Taylor or a half-assed version of Woody Guthrie,” he said in a press release, continuing, “which is what happens when almost every rock and roller straps on an acoustic guitar. No thanks… This Machine Kills Artists is a different kind of animal.”

And based on the first track, a brooding acoustic number called “Dark Brown Teeth”, he isn’t lying. Listen below.

This Machine Kills Artists Tracklist:
01. Dark Brown Teeth
02. Rough Democracy
03. Laid Back Walking
04. Drunken Baby
05. Vaulting Over A Microphone
06. New River
07. The Vulgar Joke
08. Everything’s Easy For You
09. The Ripping Driving
10. How I Became Offensive
11. Instrument of God
12. The Spoiled Brat
13. Illegal Mona
14. Good and Hostile
15. The Blithering Idiot
16. Useless King of the Punks
17. The Hesitation Twist


Follow Consequence