Listen: Hercules and Love Affair’s new song “I Try To Talk to You”, featuring John Grant


Since announcing Hercules and Love Affair’s new album The Feast of the Broken Heart earlier this year, DJ Andy Butler has unveiled a sizable chunk of new music. First came the album’s lead single, “Do You Feel The Same?”, followed by two non-album B-sides (part of a recently-released 7-inch) in “Raid” and “Working Miracles”.Today, Butler and Co. return to promoting the album proper, teaming with Denver-based singer John Grant for “I Try To Talk to You”.

While Grant’s alt-folk and Hercules’ nu-disco appear immediately disconnected, they actually share a history of collaboration. (Grant appeared with the collective during 2012’s Meltdown Festival, and Hercules later returned the favor with a remix of Grant’s “Black Belt”). It’s no surprise, then, that the pair blend their dichotomous elements brilliantly, with Grant offering a hushed and silky croon over a sweat-soaked blend of disco drums, chirpy synths, and New Wave piano. It’s a bit little country, a little bit Berlin circa 1978, and a whole lot of fun.

Listen in below:

The Feast of the Broken Heart hits stores on May 26th via Moshi Moshi.

The Feast of the Broken Heart Tracklist:
01. Hercules Theme 2014
02. My Offence (feat. Krystle Warren)
03. I Try To Talk to You (feat. John Grant)
04. That’s Not Me (feat. Gustaph)r
05. Think (feat. Rouge Mary)
06. 5.43 to Freedom (feat. Rouge Mary)
07. The Light (feat. Krystle Warren)
08. Liberty (feat. John Grant)
09. Do You Feel the Same? (feat. Gustaph)
10. The Key (feat. Rouge Mary