Listen: Kelis’ “Runnin'” remixed by Machinedrum

Kelis // Photo by Heather Kaplan

Photo by Heather Kaplan

On April 22nd, Kelis will return with her new album, Food, via Ninja Tune. Thus far, we’ve heard “Jerk Ribs” and “Rumble”, both experimental cuts from the ever-evolving R&B singer (and, let’s not forget, aspiring chef). Now, we get another taste of the LP in the form of a “Runnin'” remix by electronic producer Machinedrum.

Skittering and stylish, the outstanding rework highlights Kelis’ flavorful vocals, which often double as lulling antidote and sultry tantalizer. The original “Runnin'” has yet to surface, so this is technically our first glimpse at the Food track. Seeing as how most remixes are only as good as their source material, I can’t wait to sink my teeth into the official album cut.

Food Tracklist:
01. Breakfast
02. Jerk Ribs
03. Forever Be
04. Floyd
05. Runnin’
06. Hooch
07. Cobbler
08. Bless the Telephone
09. Friday Fish Fry
10. Change
11. Rumble
12. Biscuits n’ Gravy
13. Dreamer