Stream: Nas’ Illmatic XX, the 20th anniversary reissue of his landmark debut


On April 15th, Nas will release Illmatic XX, the deluxe reissue of his landmark debut album. In anticipation, highlights from the LP are streaming below.

Celebrating the 20th anniversary of the original Illmatic, the reissue features the newly remastered album as well as a second disc of rare remixes, unreleased demos, and freestyles. Among the bonus cuts are “It Ain’t Hard to Tell (Stink Mix)”, a 1993 freestyle from “The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show”, and “I’m a Villain”, reportedly an early version of “N.Y. State of Mind”.

In support of the release, Nas teamed up with Q-Tip for an appearance on Fallon and performed the album in full at Coachella, with special guests Jay Z and Puff Daddy. He has plans for further performances of the album, including an appearance at Lollapalooza in April.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Illmatic XX Tracklist:

Disc 1: Remastered original album
01. The Genesis
02. N.Y. State Of Mind
03. Life’s A Bitch
04. The World Is Yours
05. Halftime
06. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)
07. One Love
08. One Time 4 Your Mind
09. Represent
10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell

Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio
01. I’m A Villain (previously unreleased)
02. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)
03. Halftime (Butcher Remix)
04. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Remix) (promo single)
05. One Love (LG Main Mix)
06. Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix) (promo single)
07. One Love (One L Main Mix)
08. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)
09. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix) (UK single)
10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix) (UK single)