Listen: Blood Orange’s Dev Hynes shares new song “April’s Bathroom Bummer”


As previously reported, Blood Orange’s Dev Hynes has scored Gia Coppola’s directorial debut, Palo Alto, a film based off short stories by actor James Franco. Beginning today, the score is now available digitally through iTunes. It will be available on CD and LP beginning August 5th through Domino Records.

To accompany today’s digital release, Hynes has shared “April’s Bathroom Bummer”, one of the new song featured on the score. Similar to “Palo Alto” and “April’s Daydream”, “April’s Bathroom Bummer” combines Hynes’ proclivity to fuse electronic music with classic R&B and indie pop. On the track, Hynes mournfully coos over with moody horns and swirling synths. True to its title, “April’s Bathroom Bummer” isn’t exactly a mood elevator but it’s still pretty lovely. Listen in below.

The film, which stars James Franco, Emma Roberts, Jack Kilmer, Nat Wolff, and Zoe Levin, is currently in select theaters. Click here to find a screening.

Palo Alto (Original Motion Picture Score) Tracklist:
01. Palo Alto
02. Soccer Field
03. Teddy & April
04. April’s Daydream
05. Run To Graveyard
06. April’s Bathroom Bummer
07. Emily & Fred (Part 1)
08. Emily & Fred (Part 2)
09. Teddy Rides Home
10. Teddy & Fred In The Playground
11. Teddy In The Library
12. Big Game
13. April Bounces
14. Skateboard Garage
15. Teddy Loves April
16. April By The Pool
17. Fred Drives
18. Teddy Is Crushed