Listen: Common’s new song “Speak My Piece”


On July 22nd, Common returns with his 10th studio album, Nobody’s Smiling, which will hit stores through a new partnership with Def Jam. The album marks a reunion with Common’s longtime producer No I.D., and together the pair have crafted a concept album inspired by violence in Chicago.

Already we’ve heard the Vince Staples-assisted single “Kingdom”, and today, Common unveils “Speak My Piece”. Backed by primal percussion and a brief sample Notorious B.I.G.’s “Hypnotize”, Common proudly displays his hometown pride, spitting, “I lay it for the for world, for Chicago I stand”. While much of the record is meant to deride inner-cty violence, “Speak My Piece” shows Common still believes in the hope of renewal and for civic pride.

Listen in below.

Common has also shared the Nobody’s Smiling tracklist. Unlike previously reported, the 10-track album does not feature  “War” or the Ab-Soul-aided “Made In Black America”.

Nobody’s Smiling Tracklist:
01. The Neighborhood (feat. Lil Herb & Cocaine 80s)
02. No Fear
03. Diamonds (feat. Big Sean)
04. Blak Majik (feat. Jhené Aiko)
05. Speak My Piece
06. Hustle Harder (feat. Snoh Aalegra & Dreezy)
07. Nobody’s Smiling
08. Real (feat. Elijah Blake)
09. Kingdom (feat. Vince Staples)
10. Rewind That