Stream: Jack White’s new album Lazaretto


Jack White will release his highly-anticipated sophomore solo album, Lazaretto, on June 10th through his own Third Man Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full via iTunes Radio.

Spanning 12 tracks, the follow-up to 2012’s Blunderbuss has actually been in the works for nearly a year, but was delayed due to a severe case of writer’s block. Ultimately, White found inspiration from one-act plays and poems he wrote as a 19-year-old. He told NPR, “And then I thought, before I [throw these way], why don’t I pull some of these characters out, some of these names, some of these sentences, and work with them? And I did. And it became a way to collaborate with my younger self.”

Musically, White has described the album as a potluck of sounds, from White Stripes-esque garage rock to rockabilly to country twang. “I don’t pick my style and then write a song,” he explained to Rolling Stone. “I just write whatever comes out of me, and whatever style it is what it is, and it becomes something later.” Also worth noting is the album’s “Ultra” vinyl edition, which comes chock full with various gimmicks, including a hologram etched right on the vinyl. The album is preceded by a trio of tracks, specifically “High Ball Stepper”, the title track, and “Just One Drink”.

Among the various configurations available is an “Ultra” version of the LP, featuring hidden tracks, different mixes, an etched hologram, and an assortment of other goodies. Pre-orders are ongoing.

Below, watch a visualizer for the title track:

Lazaretto Tracklist:
01. Three Women
02. Lazaretto
03. Temporary Ground
04. Would You Fight for My Love?
05. High Ball Stepper
06. Just One Drink
07. Alone in My Home
08. Entitlement
09. That Black Bat Licorice
10. I Think I Found the Culprit
11. Want and Able