Stream: The Fresh & Onlys’ new album House of Spirits


San Francisco psych-rockers The Fresh & Onlys will release their new album, House of Spirits, on June 10th through Mexican Summer. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full over at The New York Times.

Spanning 10 tracks, the album was written at an isolated horse ranch in Arizona and later recorded with producer Phil Manley (Grass Widow, Wooden Shjips) in the band’s home studio. It follows their 2012 full-length Long Slow Dance and last year’s Soothsayer EP.

Frontman Tim Cohen spoke to Paste about the writing process behind House of Spirits:

“I wrote most of the songs living in seclusion in the desert. This was when my baby has no skills of communication whatsoever. I would isolate myself away from my family—not an unhealthy way, but I had my time and my space and plenty of it—just being out there under the big sky, not being in the city with the constant stimuli. I went a little deeper into the psyche. There’s a lot of ghost imagery and desert-y vibes. Also with the new life that I had in my hands I actually ironically started thinking about mortality a lot more. Death has always been a pervasive theme in all the songs I’ve written. It’s something that fascinates me—things that are not tangible that you can’t even explain, not even music itself. It comes from the ether and just is…There are a lot more questions asked and not necessarily answered.”

House of Spirits is preceded by three singles, “Who Let the Devil”, “Animal of One”, and “Bells of Paonia”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

House of Spirits Tracklist:
01. Home Is Where?
02. Who Let the Devil
03. Bells of Paonia
04. Animal of One
05. I’m Awake
06. Hummingbird
07. April Fools
08. Ballerina
09. Candy
10. Madness