Tennis announce new album, Ritual in Repeat, stream “Never Work For Free”


Photo by Luca Venter

Husband and wife duo Alaina Moore and Patrick Riley, t.k.a. Tennis, have announced their new album, Ritual in Repeat, which will hit stores on September 9th via Communion Records.

Serving as their third full-length effort and follow-up to last year’s Small Sound EP, the forthcoming LP features an all-star cast of producers, including Patrick Carney (The Black Keys), Jim Eno (Spoon), and Richard Swift (The Shins). All three have collaborated with the Denver-based duo previously, as Carney produced their 2012 album Young & Old while Eno and Swift both lent production to Small Sound.

As a taste of the new LP, Tennis has shared the album’s lead single, “Never Work For Free”. Seemingly taking cues from their recent tourmates HAIM, the song recalls their bubbly melodies and breezy pop sensibilities. Moore even sounds a bit like Danielle Haim with her occasionally staccato delivery and harmonies. That said, it’s still obviously Tennis, and based on this preview, Ritual In Repeat should be a charming statement. Listen in below.

Ritual in Repeat Tracklist:
01. Night Vision
02. Never Work for Free
03. Needle and a Knife
04. I’m Callin’
05. Bad Girls
06. Timothy
07. Viv Without the N
08. Wounded Heart
09. This Isn’t My Song
10. Solar on the Rise
11. Meter & Line