Tricky announces new album, Adrian Thaws, streams “Nicotine Love”


On September 8th, Tricky will return with his 11th album to date, Adrian Thaws, via his own False Idols imprint. Recorded in London, New York, Paris, and Los Angeles, the 13-track effort features elements of hip-hop, house, jazz, blues, and reggae, as well as guest contributions from Mykki Blanco and Oh Land.

Although the LP bears the iconic musician’s birth name, Adrian Thaws, Tricky considers it his “least introspective” release. “Calling it Adrian Thaws is saying you don’t really know me,” he explains in a press release. “So many times people have tried to put a finger on me and every album I go to a different place.”

Commenting on the sound of the album, he added: “I suppose this is my club/hip hop album. I’ve only heard my music a few times in a club but I grew up in clubs from when I was 14: blues parties, hip hop clubs, a few raves. I’m not known for doing club music but this album has some club tracks on it – well, what I would consider club music.”

Our first glimpse at Adrian Thaws comes courtesy of “Nicotine Love”, featuring singer Francesca Belmonte. It’s a slinky, body-moving number that seems well-suited for U.K. club-hopping. Listen in below.

Adrian Thaws Tracklist:
01. Sun Down feat. Tirzah
02. Lonnie Listen feat. Mykki Blanco & Francesca Belmonte
03. Something In The Way feat. Francesca Belmonte
04. Keep Me In Your Shake feat. Nneka
05. The Unloved (Skit)
06. Nicotine Love feat. Francesca Belmonte
07. Gangster Chronicles feat. Bella Gotti
08. I Had A Dream feat. Francesca Belmonte
09. My Palestine Girl feat. Blue Daisy
10. Why Don’t You feat. Bella Gotti
11. Silly Games feat. Tirzah
12. Right Here feat. Oh Land
13. Silver Tongue – When You Go