Johnny Marr announces new solo album, Playland


It took Johnny Marr some 30 years of playing with The Smiths and an assortment of other bands before he finally ventured out on his own and released a solo album, last year’s The Messenger. Luckily, Marr isn’t waiting nearly as long for the follow-up. Entitled Playland, Marr’s sophomore solo record is due out October 6th via Warner Bros.

According to a press release, Marr began work on the 11-track album as soon as he had completed The Messenger. “When The Messenger came out I kept on writing,” Marr said in a statement. “I liked that the band had a momentum going on tour and a connection with the audience, and I thought that energy would be good to capture on the new record.” Recording took place earlier this spring in a London studio alongside collaborator and co-producer Doviak.

Marr said that he drew inspiration from the 1938 book Homo Ludens, which explores the concept of cultural development, and from the actual city of London. “It’s important to sound like your environment and on this record that’s London and Manchester,” he said. “The feeling of the cities and the people make it into the music.”

The press release explains that Playland involves a theme of “songs that move at the speed of life”, adding that the LP captures “the spirit that made The Messenger so memorable with energetic, post-punk songwriting complemented by Johnny Marr’s characteristic guitar style, thought-provoking lyrical ideas, and poised vocal phrasing.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, revisit our recent interview with Marr.

Playland Tracklist:
01. Back In The Box
02. Easy Money
03. Dynamo
04. Candidate
05. 25 Hours
06. The Trap
07. Playland
08. Speak Out Reach Out
09. Boys Get Straight
10. This Tension
11. Little King