Listen: Simian Mobile Disco’s new song “Tangents”


As previously reported, UK electronic duo Simian Mobile Disco are prepping the release of their fourth studio album, Whorl, on September 9th via ANTI- Records. The 12-track album was recorded live in front of a 900-person audience, using only modular synths and sequencers. As our first taste of their dynamic approach, the duo has unveiled the lead single, entitled “Tangents”.

The instrumental track utilizes the live-recording concept to its advantage, showcasing the duo as they rely on impulse to build up a sparse beat into a futuristic, synth jam. Over the course of track, the duo slowly add in fleeting glitches and increasingly complex drum loops, patiently raising the intensity while never losing control. It’s a serene and ethereal glimpse inside the minds of the two producers as they construct and deconstruct their own music.

Listen in below:

Whorl Tracklist:
01. Redshift
02. Dandelion Spheres
03. Sun Dogs
04. Hypnick Jerk
05. Dervish
06. Z Sphere
07. Nazard
08. Calyz
09. Jam Side Up
10. Tangents
11. Iron Henge
12. Casiopeia