Stream: Sia’s new album 1000 FORMS OF FEAR

sia - 1000 forms of fear

Sia will release her new album, 1000 FORMS OF FEAR, on July 8th via RCA/Monkey Puzzle Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full over via iTunes Radio.

The follow-up to 2010’s We Are Born was produced by longtime collaborator Greg Kurstin and recorded at Los Angeles’ Echo Studio. In the years following the release of We Are Born, Sia bolstered her songwriting resume by penning tunes for Eminem, Beyonce, Katy Perry, Rihanna, and many more.

While the Australian native was originally hesitant to release a new album (she admits growing uncomfortable with the idea of fame), she eventually adopted a blonde bob as a kind of symbol for herself and the album’s larger themes.

“I already have a much larger concept for this album and for how I’m going to present it and that was: I don’t want to be famous,” she said in a recent interview. “If Amy Winehouse was a beehive then I guess I’m a blonde bob. I thought ‘well if that’s my brand, how can I avoid having to use my face to sell something,’ so my intention was to create a blonde bob brand.”

She added, “Throughout this whole thing I’ll put a different person in a blonde bob and either they lip-synch while I’m doing a live performance or they perform a dance or do some sort of performance while I have my back to the audience, as with Ellen.” Stand-ins have included 11-year-old ballerina Maddie Ziegler and actress Lena Dunham.

The album is preceded by three singles, the smash hit “Chandeliers”, “Eye of the Needle”, and “Big Girls Cry”. The album track “Elastic Heart”, which features The Weeknd and Diplo, was originally included on the soundtrack to Hunger Games: Catching Fire.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “Chandeliers”:

1000 FORMS OF FEAR Tracklist:
01. Chandelier
02. Big Girls Cry
03. Burn the Pages
04. Eye of the Needle
05. Hostage
06. Straight for the Knife
07. Fair Game
08. Elastic Heart feat. The Weeknd and Diplo (produced by Diplo, co-produced by Greg Kurstin)
09. Free the Animal
10. Fire Meet Gasoline
11. Cellophane
12. Dressed In Black