Deerhoof announces new album, La Isla Bonita, streams “Exit Only”


The members of Deerhoof have spent much of the last year indulged in side projects: Greg Saunier teamed with Sean Lennon as Mystical Weapons; Satomi Matsuzaki played a few solo shows, including one at Philip Glass’ Philippines benefit concert; John Dieterich recorded as Bad News from Houston; and Ed Rodriguez did some remix work. On November 4th, however, the San Francisco noise rockers will reconvene for the release of their 12th studio album, La Isla Bonita.

Serving as the follow-up to 2012’s Breakup Song, the 10-track effort was produced by Nick Sylvester (formerly of Mr. Dream) and draws upon a wide array of influences, including Beck, Radiohead, The Flaming Lips, Lou Reed, Sonic Youth, and more.

In a statement, Saunier said, “No band is an island. Felt like one sometimes, in those budgetless and obscure early days, Satomi and me locked in the basement trying to figure out how our clashing personalities and ideas could turn into a band. If we hadn’t had that crazed mid-’90s Bay Area punk scene to call home, I doubt we’d still be here to chat about a 20th anniversary. We don’t set out to create masterpieces. The Deerhoof fan is a thrill-seeker. This is the latest volley in an ongoing conversation we’ve been honored to hold for 20 years.”

Our first taste of the LP comes via its lead single, “Exit Only”. After exploring the realm of electronica with Breakup Song, Deerhoof emphatically return to their roots of blitzing, occasionally gritty rock ‘n’ roll. Drums pop like small arms fire, guitars surge like industrial-sized chainsaws, and Matsuzaki’s vocals are as deceptively childlike as ever. It’s a straight shot of saccharine-flavored dissonance, like mainlining a couple dozen Pixy Stix in one sitting.

Listen in below.

La Isla Bonita Tracklist:
01. Paradise Girls
02. Mirror Monster
03. Doom
04. Last Fad
05. Tiny Bubbles
06. Exit Only
07. Big House Waltz
08. God 2
09. Black Pitch
10. Oh Bummer