Kevin Morby announces new album, Still Life, stream “Parade”


Even after pulling double duty as a member of both indie rock groups Woods and The Babies, singer-songwriter Kevin Morby has enjoyed a rather prolific solo career in just the last 12 months. Back in November he issued his full-length debut, Harlem River, and earlier this month, dropped a 7-inch on Suicide Squeeze Records. Morby looks to continue his hot streak this fall as he returns with his sophomore album, Still Life.

Despite its title, the 10-track effort is said to reflect a transitional period in Morby’s life, when he amicably left Woods and made the move to Los Angeles from New York City to focus on his solo career.

A press release notes: “The album reflects both this time in transit and the quiet confines of his new home in Montecito Heights. Scenes of performers, audience expectations and the paradoxical confines of a roving individual perpetually caught in a crowd percolate the songs … Violent fates, wrestling with destiny and the nature of death … the characters in these songs seem to never quite find each other, but perhaps they find themselves.”

“Parade”, a mellow but very charming bit of ’60s folk-pop, serves as our first taste of the new LP. According to Morby, it’s “an elegy of sorts for one of his major influences, Lou Reed.” Check it out below.

Still Life hits stores on October 14th via Woodsist. Below see the tracklist and album artwork.

Still Life Tracklist:
01. The Jester, The Tramp & the Acrobat
02. The Ballad of Arlo Jones
03. Motors Running
04. All Of My Life
05. Drowning
06. Bloodsucker
07. Parade
08. Dancer
09. Amen
10. Our Moon