Listen: Banks’ new single “Someone New”


With less than a month to go before the release of her full-length debut, Goddess, LA songstress Banks has unveiled her touching new single, “Someone New”.

While Banks has showed us her ability to emotionally bare it all, most of those personal compositions — such as “Waiting Game”, “Beggin’ For Thread”, and “This Is What It Feels Like” — came laced in dense, intricately layered production from the likes of Shlohmo, Lil Silva, and SOHN.

However, here on “Someone New”, the R&B singer is front and center, her voice alone left to carry the burden of such heavy matters of the heart. With only the faint strums of an acoustic guitar to accompany her, Banks pleads for a loved one to wait for her return: “Everything I make, I only make for you / Baby, be patient for me and please don’t fall in love with someone new.” Listen in below.

Goddess hits stores on September 9th via Harvest Records.

Goddess Tracklist:
01. Alibi
02. Goddess
03. Waiting Game
04. Brain
05. This Is What It Feels Like
06. You Should Know Where I’m Coming From
07. Stick
08. Fuck Em Only We Know
09. Drowning
10. Beggin’ For Thread
11. Change
12. Someone New
13. Warm Water
14. Under The Table
15. And I Drove You Crazy *
16. Bedroom Wall *
17. Fall Over *
18. Before I Ever Met You *

* = deluxe edition

In support of the new album, Banks will embark on a North American tour next month. Consult the dates here.