Listen: We Were Promised Jetpacks’ new song “I Keep It Composed”


Edinburgh rockers We Were Promised Jetpacks have shared “I Keep It Composed”, the second taste off their first new album in three years, Unravelling. Whereas “Safety In Numbers” was all kinetic energy, “I Keep It Composed” supplements the post-punk rush of snarling guitars and heavily theatrical vocals with deliberate drums, denser bass grooves, and a tinge of psychedelia. The result is less intense and immediate, but the accompanying head trip does tend to stick around a bit longer, weaving its way through your ears long after the song’s ended.

Listen in below.

Unravelling is due out October 14th via FatCat Records. The 11-track effort was produced by Paul Savage (Moqwai, Franz Ferdinand) at Glasgow’s Chem19 Studios this past winter.

In support, the band will be on tour in the US this October/November. Consult their full schedule here.

Unravelling Tracklist:
01. Safety In Numbers
02. Peaks and Troughs
03. I Keep It Composed
04. Peace Sign
05. Night Terror
06. Disconnecting
07. Bright Minds
08. A Part Of It
09. Moral Compass
10. Peace Of Mind
11. Ricochet