Stream: Interpol’s new album El Pintor


New York alt rock mainstays Interpol will release their fifth studio album, El Pintor, on September 9th via Matador Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full at NPR.

El Pintor, which is Spanish for “the painter,” was written and recorded in New York City at Electric Lady Studios and Atomic Sound, with James Brown (Foo Fighters, Arctic Monkeys) serving as engineer and Alan Moulder in charge of mixing. The album also features frontman Paul Banks on bass for the first time, along with guest appearances from he Secret Machines’ Brandon Curtis, Roger Joseph Manning, Jr. (Beck, Air), and Rob Moose (Bon Iver). It serves as the follow-up to 2010’s Interpol.

The album is preceded by singles “Anywhere”, “All The Rage Back Home”, and “Ancient Ways”.

Below, watch the video for “Anywhere”.

El Pintor Tracklist:
01. All the Rage Back Home
02. My Desire
03. Anywhere
04. Same Town, New Story
05. My Blue Supreme
06. Everything Is Wrong
07. Breaker 1
08. Ancient Ways
09. Tidal Wave
10. Twice as Hard