Stream: J Mascis’ new album Tied To A Star


Dinosaur Jr. frontman J Mascis will release his latest solo record, Tied To A Star, on August 26th via Sub Pop. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full at

The follow-up to 2011’s Several Shades of Why was self-recorded and produced by Mascis. The 10-track effort features contributions from Cat Power and Mark Mulcahy, as well as members of the Black Heart Procession and Young@Heart Chorus.

In an interview with The Skinny, Mascis says he didn’t think about distinguishing his solo material from his hard rock past and just tried to “get a certain vibe” with the 10-track effort. Still, he adds that he had to “fight the urge to put … y’know, drums and everything on all the songs.”

He added, “Yeah, I was writing for the solo record. It kinda captures a mood,. And some riffs I came up with didn’t fit into that. I saved ‘em for something else … I definitely wanted it to sound different, to make some distinction.”

The album is preceded by two singles, “Every Morning” and “Wide Awake”.

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Tied to a Star Tracklist:
01. Me Again
02. Every Morning
03. Heal the Star
04. Wide Awake
05. Stumble
06. And Then
07. Drifter
08. Trailing Off
09. Come Down
10. Better Plane