Watch: Foxygen debuts new songs “Cannibal Holocaust” and “Hang”


On October 14th, rock revivalists Foxygen will release a bonkers 24-song double album entitled, …And Star Power, via Jajaguwar. Already, the San Francisco-based outfit has unveiled the lead single, “How Can You Really” and offered the live debut of “Can’t Contextualize My Mind”. Today, they took to Seattle radio station KEXP to reveal two more tracks: “Cannibal Holocaust” and “Hang”.

Fortunately, “Cannibal Holocaust” has little to do with Ruggero Deodato’s titular 1980 horror film, which was by all accounts really gross. Instead, “Cannibal Holocaust” the song is quite uplifting. Backed by a light organ and faint touches of psychedelia, it feels like a lost ballad from the late ’60s.

Like “Cannibal Holocaust”, “Hang” also boasts ’60s-inflected organs, but here, the guitars are more prominent and frontman Sam France takes on a Mick Jagger-esque howl towards the end of the track. While much of the previously shared …And Star Power tracks have been relatively subdued, the latter half of “Hang” shows glimpses of the band’s early, unhinged psych rock days.

Watch the live clips of “Cannibal Holocaust”, “Hang”, and lead single “How Can You Really” below (via Pitchfork).

…And Star Power Tracklist:
01. Star Power Airlines
02. How Can You Really
03. Coulda Been My Love
04. Cosmic Vibrations
05. You & I
06. Star Power I: Overture
07. Star Power II: Star Power Nite
08. Star Power III: What Are We Good For
09. Star Power IV: Ooh Ooh
10. I Don’t Have Anything/The Gate
11. Mattress Warehouse
12. 666
13. Flowers
14. Wally’s Farm
15. Cannibal Holocaust
16. Hot Summer
17. Cold Winter/Freedom
18. Can’t Contextualize My Mind
19. Brooklyn Police Station
20. The Game
21. Freedom II
22. Talk
23. Everyone Needs Love
24. Hang