Watch: Jessie Ware debuts new songs “You & I (Forever)” and “Kind Of … Sometimes … Maybe”


In the lead-up to her sophomore album, Tough Love, UK singer Jessie Ware has already provided listeners with quite a few sonic previews. There’s the self-assured “Champagne Kisses”; the seductive “Share It All”; the elegant title track; and, perhaps her most sentimental and pop-oriented number to date, “Say You Love Me”.

During her set at Helsinki’s Flow Festival this past weekend, Ware revealed even more of the “lush and confident” LP by performing two other album cuts.

“You & I (Forever)” is a witty dance-pop ballad dripping with a kind of Lily Allen-inspired swagger. Meanwhile, “Kind Of … Sometimes … Maybe” is a sleek, stripped-down soul ballad, with a certain retro ’60s vibe permeating throughout. Both tracks appear to be less about Ware’s angelic vocal range and more demonstrations of her development as a performer, songwriter, and all-around adult.

Watch fan-shot footage of both tracks below (via Stereogum).

“You & I (Forever)”:

“Kind Of … Sometimes … Maybe”:

Tough Love, the follow-up to 2012’s excellent Devotion, is due out on October 21st via PMR/Island Records. It was executive produced by BenZel, with additional help from Julio Bashmore, The Invisible’s Dave Okumu, and Kid Harpoon.

Tough Love Tracklist:
01. Tough Love
02. You & I (Forever)
03. Cruel
04. Say You Love Me
05. Sweetest Song
06. Kind of…Sometimes…Maybe
07. Want Your Feeling
08. Pieces
09. Keep on Lying
10. Champagne Kisses
11. Desire