A throat singer upset Arcade Fire, Drake, and Mac DeMarco to win award for Canada’s best album

Arcade Fire’s fourth studio album, Reflektor, has won the 2014 Polaris Music Prize. Oh, wait — no it didn’t.

In an unexpected turn of events, throat singer Tanya Tagaq has beat out formidable nominees like Arcade Fire, Drake (Nothing Was The Same), Mac DeMarco (Salad Days), and Owen Pallett (In Conflict) to win the award for Canada’s best album.

Tanya Tagaq earned two previous Polaris Prize nominations, but she picks up her first ever win with Animism. The album was released through Six Shooter Records this past May. Here’s what it sounds like:

In her acceptance speech, Tagaq encouraged people to wear and eat seal and said, “fuck PETA.” Though she’s released four albums (including the Mike Patton-featuring Auk/Blood, released on Patton’s own Ipecac Recordings in 2008), listeners may be most familiar with Tagaq thanks to her appearance on the Björk track “Ancestors” from 2004’s Medúlla.

Now in its ninth year, the Polaris Prize is selected by a jury of music journalists, bloggers, and broadcasters. In addition to bragging rights, the winner will takes home a $30,000 cash prize.

Polaris Prize 2014 Shortlist:
Arcade Fire – Reflektor
Basia Bulat – Tall Tall Shadow
Drake – Nothing Was The Same
Jessy Lanza – Pull My Hair Back
Mac DeMarco – Salad Days
Owen Pallett – In Conflict
Shad – Flying Colours
Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams
Yamantaka // Sonic Titan – Uzu
Tanya Tagaq – Animism


Follow Consequence