Arca announces new album, Xen, releases “Thievery” — listen

Arca - Xen album

After manning the boards for the likes of Kanye West (“Blood On The Leaves”, “Hold My Liquor”) and fka Twigs (“Papi Pacify”, “Water Me”), Brooklyn-based producer Arca is looking to step into the spotlight with his debut solo album. Entitled Xen, the 15-track effort is due out on November 4th via his new label, Mute Records. That’s the LP’s unnerving artwork above, inked by visual artist/frequent collaborator Jesse Kanda.

Our first taste of the record comes courtesy of “Thievery”. Similar to his early catalog, namely the &&&&& mix, Arca proves that he doesn’t need to pull much from his arsenal in order to conjure atmospheres of grandeur and urgency. With darting, screechy synths and little else, he manages to piece together a murky and menacing banger.

Listen in below.

Xen Tracklist:
01. Now You Know
02. Held Apart
03. Xen
04. Sad Bitch
05. Sisters
06. Slit Thru
07. Failed
08. Family Violence
09. Thievery
10. Lonely Thugg
11. Fish
12. Wound
13. Bullet Chained
14. Tongue
15. Promise