Bloc Party’s Kele releases new song “Coasting” — listen

Bloc Party frontman Kele will release his sophomore album, Trick, on October 14th via Lilac Records/Kobalt Label Services. Our first sample of the effort came a month ago in the form of lead single “Doubt”. Now, after teasing the song in the album’s trailer, Kele has revealed the full version of “Coasting”.

The track tones down the dance vibes heard on “Doubt” in favor of downbeat, moody production. Kele’s airy falsetto floats above the sparse beats and ambient synthesizer whirls, lightening up the rather haunting atmosphere. The clamoring drum samples feel akin to Thom Yorke’s own solo work with The Eraser, but reinterpreted with R&B-tinged melodies. While Kele sounds vocally at his smoothest, there’s still a sense of despondency looming throughout the track.

Listen in below.

Trick Tracklist:
01. First Impressions
02. Coasting
03. Doubt
04. Closer
05. Like We Used To
06. Humour Me
07. Year Zero
08. My Hotel Room
09. Silver and Gold
10. Stay the Night


Follow Consequence