Deptford Goth releases song “Two Hearts” — listen

British producer Daniel Woolhouse, aka Deptford Goth, returns with his sophomore album, Songs, on November 4th via 37 Adventures/PIAS Recordings. The follow-up to last year’s Life After Defo marks a change in his sound, as he swaps gloomy, ambient textures for lighter, yet heartfelt pop.

“It wasn’t a conscious decision,” Woolhouse says in a press release. “But I’ve become more accepting of my voice, so it’s more prominent now, which led to structuring the songs in a more classic way. I also wanted people to hear the lyrics. It’s a process of being more upfront and honest.” He added, “Life After Defo had bits of hope hidden inside but this one’s definitely more joyous. Instead of closing down I’m opening up and feeling more at peace with myself about certain things.”

“Two Hearts” serves as our latest preview of the new album, and like lead single “The Lovers”, showcases Deptford Goth’s newfound tenderness and tranquility. Here, over the bare, soft hum of a piano, Woolhouse’s feathery vocals rise and fall with grace, sounding as impassioned as ever. As though he’s overcome great obstacles all for matters of the heart, his repeated croon of “Love is enough” reads like a powerfully moving declaration of triumph.

Listen in below.

Songs Tracklist:
01. Relics
02. Do Exist
03. The Lovers
04. We Symbolise
05. Code
06. The Loop
07. A Circle
08. Near to a River
09. Dust
10. Two Hearts
11. A Shelter, A Weapon


Follow Consequence