Listen: Aphex Twin’s first new song in 13 years, “mini pops 67”


A moment 13 years in the making, Aphex Twin’s Richard D. James has unveiled the first taste of his new album, SYRO. This afternoon, BBC Radio 1’s Zane Lowe premiered album opener and lead single, “mini pops 67 (source field mix)”. Laced with dizzying, robotic-like vocal manipulations, ominous synths, and scattershot percussion, the track finds Aphex Twin triumphantly returning to form. Listen in below.

SYRO arrives September 23rd via Warp Records. In a recent interview with The FADER, James said he’s been working on the albums for the last six years. “I’d stockpiled up so much stuff and you can kind of have to draw a line under it somewhere,” he explained. “By banging something out it, it’s like the end of the chapter. It properly draws a line under it and allows you to move on.” Consequently, he added that SYRO will not be a one-off record, but has rather “kicked into gear” for a new period of output.

The album will be available on digital, CD, and vinyl formats, including as a deluxe vinyl box set. For further previews, watch fan footage of James performing early versions of “4 bit 9d api+e+6″ and “XMAS_EveT10 (thanaton3 mix)”.

SYRO Tracklist:
01. minipops 67 (source field mix) (aka the manchester track)
02. XMAS_EveT10 (thanaton3 mix)
03. produk 29
04. 4 bit 9d api+e+6
05. 180db_
06. CIRCLONT6A (syrobonkus mix)
07. fz pseudotimestrech+e+3
08. CIRCLONT14 (shrymoming mix)
09. syro u473t8+e (piezoluminescence mix)
10. PAPAT4 (pineal mix)
11. s950tx16wasr10 (earth portal mix)
12. aisatsana