Listen: Flying Lotus and Kendrick Lamar’s “Never Catch Me”


Two of hip-hop’s most exciting forces, super producer Flying Lotus and super MC Kendrick Lamar, have joined forces for their first collaborative track. Entitled “Never Catch Me”, it’s set to appear on FlyLo’s new studio album, You’re Dead!, due out October 7th via Warp Records.

According to Pitchfork, “Never Catch Me” marks the beginning of what could be a healthy partnership between the two musicians. Flying Lotus first worked with Kendrick in preparing for his opening slot on the Yeezus tour. During that time, Kendrick took several of FlyLo’s beats for potential use on his own new album.

“I went on tour and he recorded to a bunch of my songs,” Flying Lotus explained. “I don’t know if he’s gonna use them or not, but he recorded a bunch of stuff, which is why there’s no Captain Murphy album out yet. He took all my beats!”

The jazz undertones heard on the Herbie Hancock-aided lead single, “Moment Of Hesitation”, show up again on “Never Catch Me”, but now with harder, more hip-hop oriented edge. Rapid drum fills and lackadaisical piano lines spiral maniacally against one another like an anxiety attack. Lamar’s flow emulates the frantic vibes, spitting brutal lines like “Buffalo soldiers at war, you shot fast but that ain’t the final score.” The MC and producer both reach some of their meanest moments on the track, building off of each other’s tenacity like two blazing infernos.

Listen below.

The follow-up to 2012’s Until the Quiet Comes, You’re Dead! spans 19 tracks and also includes collaborations with Herbie Hancock, ex-Dirty Projectors member Angel Deradoorian, Snoop Dogg, and Thundercat. FlyLo’s hip-hop alter ego Captain Murphy is also featured on two tracks.

You’re Dead! Tracklist:
01. Theme
02. Tesla (feat. Herbie Hancock)
03. Cold Dead
04. Fkn Dead
05. Never Catch Me (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
06. Dead Man’s Tetris (feat. Captain Murphy & Snoop Dogg)
07. Turkey Dog Coma
08. Stirring
09. Coronus, the Terminator
10. Siren Song (feat. Angel Deradoorian)
11. Turtles
12. Ready Err Not
13. Eyes Above
14. Moment of Hesitation (feat. Herbie Hancock)
15. Descent Into Madness (feat. Thundercat)
16. The Boy Who Died in Their Sleep (feat. Captain Murphy)
17. Obligatory Cadence
18. Your Potential // The Beyond (feat. Niki Randa)
19. The Protest