Listen: Foxygen’s new song “Cosmic Vibrations”


Foxygen will return with their sophomore album, …And Star Power, on October 14th through Jagjaguwar. Spanning a whopping 24 songs, the new double LP finds the San Francisco outfit expanding on the psych rock leanings of their last release, 2013’s We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace and Magic. In anticipation, the band’s let loose a new song called “Cosmic Vibrations”.

Whereas Foxygen basked in the folk pop warmth of sunny lead single “How Can You Really”, their latest sounds as though it was born in some musty netherworld. The track starts with ear-shattering noise before morphing into an eerie and ambling lo-fi number — one that seems to come off as more “spooky incantation to raise the dead” than mere “psychedelic rocker.” If Sam France’s devilish bellow doesn’t successfully induce chills, then the crafty organs surely will. Listen in below.

…And Star Power Tracklist:
01. Star Power Airlines
02. How Can You Really
03. Coulda Been My Love
04. Cosmic Vibrations
05. You & I
06. Star Power I: Overture
07. Star Power II: Star Power Nite
08. Star Power III: What Are We Good For
09. Star Power IV: Ooh Ooh
10. I Don’t Have Anything/The Gate
11. Mattress Warehouse
12. 666
13. Flowers
14. Wally’s Farm
15. Cannibal Holocaust
16. Hot Summer
17. Cold Winter/Freedom
18. Can’t Contextualize My Mind
19. Brooklyn Police Station
20. The Game
21. Freedom II
22. Talk
23. Everyone Needs Love
24. Hang