Listen: James Williamson re-records early Stooges song “I’m Sick Of You” with The Orwells’ Mario Cuomo


Photo by Heather Harris

While the future of The Stooges remains unclear, guitarist James Williamson will forge on with his own solo album later this fall. Re-Licked features 16 “lesser-known Stooges tracks properly recorded and mixed for the first time.”

In addition to being backed by live Stooges members Steve Mackay, Toby Dammit, and Mike Watt, Williamson has recruited a handful of A-list lead singers. That list includes Dead Kennedys’ Jello Biafra, Mark Lanegan, The Kills’ Alison Mosshart, Primal Scream’s Bobby Gillespie, Ariel Pink, and many more.

Our first preview of the record comes in the form of “I’m Sick Of You”, Williamson’s collaboration with The Orwells’ own Mario Cuomo. A gruff and propulsive number that features Cuomo growling over feverish riffs, the track is said to be “one of the very earliest songs (Williamson) wrote with Iggy (Pop) back in around late 1970.”

Listen in below (via BrooklynVegan).

Re-Licked is due out on October 29th via Leopard Lady Records. Check out the album’s official tracklist and artwork below.

Re-Licked Tracklist:
01. Head On The Curve (w/ Jello Biafra)
02. Open Up And Bleed (w/ Carolyn Wonderland)
03. Scene Of The Crime (w/ Bobby Gillespie from Primal Scream)
04. She Creatures Of The Hollywood Hills (w/ Ariel Pink)
05. Til The End Of The Night (w/ Alison Mosshart from The Kills, Dead Weather)
06. I Gotta Right (w/ Lisa Kekaula from The BellRays)
07. Pinpoint Eyes (w/ Joe Cardamone from The Icarus Line)
08. Wild Love (w/ Mark Lanegan & Alison Mosshart)
09. Rubber Leg (w/ Ron Young from Little Caesar)
10. I’m Sick Of You (w/ Mario Cuomo from The Orwells)

Bonus Tracks:
11. Gimme Some Skin (w/ Caroline Wonderland)
12. C*ck In My Pocket (w/ Nicke Andersson from The Hellacopters)
13. Heavy Liquid (w/ Lisa Kekaula)
14. Wet My Bed (w/ The Richmond Sluts)
15. C*ck In My Pocket (w/ Gary Floyd from The Dicks)
16. Rubber Leg (w/ J.G. Thirlwell aka Clint Ruin, Foetus)

James Williamson - Re-Licked