Listen: Purling Hiss’ new song “Forcefield of Solitude”


Psych punk outfit Purling Hiss have unveiled another track from their upcoming sixth studio album, Weirdon, due out September 23rd via Drag City. Following the quirky, madcap dash of “Learning Slowly”, album opener “Forcefield of Solitude” sees frontman Mike Polizze and Co. slow things down a bit.

By emphasizing less energy and enthusiasm, Purling Hiss instead play around in a sandbox that mixes the slacker vibes of ’90s alt rock (those screeching guitars practically scream “burnout”) and the more upbeat, shambolic rhythms of ’60s garage rock. It doesn’t have the same immediate charm, but “Forcefield of Solitude” does have the added bonus of being one of the band’s more undeniably catchy numbers.

Listen in below.

Weirdon Tracklist:
01. Forcefield of Solitude
02. Sundance Saloon Boogie
03. Learning Slowly
04. Another Silvermoon
05. Reptili-a-genda
06. Where’s Sweetboy
07. Aging Faces
08. I Don’t Wanna Be A…
09. Airwaves
10. Running Through My Dreams
11. Six Ways To Sunday