Listen: Robyn covers Arthur Russell’s “Tell You (Today)”


Since 1989, Red Hot Organization has been raising AIDS awareness through pop culture, issuing star-studded music compilations like 2009’s Dark Was The Night. On October 21st, the not-for-profit will release its latest charity compilation, a tribute to the late singer/songwriter Arthur Russell, who died from AIDS complications in 1992. Entitled Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell, the 26-track offering continues Red Hot’s streak of enlisting marquee names as contributors.

This go around, the tracklist includes Glen Hansard, Sufjan Stevens, Hot Chip, Blood Orange, Phosphorescent, Devendra Banhart, Jose Gonzalez, Cults, Arcade Fire’s Richard Reed Parry, Scissor Sisters, Thao & the Get Down Stay Down, Colin Stetson, Sam Amidon, Lonnie Holley, The Autumn Defense, Rubblebucket, and many more.

Already we’ve heard Stevens’ heartbreaking take on “A Little Lost” and Hot Chip’s uber funky cover of “Go Bang”. Today, Robyn unveils her contribution with a rendition of the 1980 single “Tell You (Today)”.

Similar to Hot Chip, the Swedish pop singer is exploring the disco end of Russell’s prolific back catalog, reworking one of only a handful of singles from Loose Joints (aka the group Russell formed to apparently record the “disco White Album“). Robyn’s cover is more a playful re-imagining than an outright rework: Though she strips the gritty horns in favor of saccharine whistling, she merely polishes the Samba influences and slightly flirtatious harmonies. It’s lusty disco that you’d feel totally safe playing at your sister’s Bat Mitzvah.

Listen in below.

Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell is due out October 26th via Yep Roc. Pre-orders are now ongoing.

Master Mix: Red Hot + Arthur Russell Tracklist:
01. Jose Gonzalez – “This Is How We Walk On The Moon”
02. Lonnie Holley – “Soon-To-Be Innocent Fun (Interlude)”
03. Robyn – “Tell You”
04. Hot Chip – “Go Bang”
05. Sufjan Stevens – “A Little Lost”
06. Lonnie Holley – “In The Light Of The Miracle (Interlude)”
07. Richard Reed Parry, Little Scream, Sam Amidon, Colin Stetson & Sarah Neufeld – “Keeping Up”
08. Liam Finn, Ernie Brooks & Peter Zummo – “This Love Is Crying”
09. Rubblebucket & Nitemoves – “Eli”
10. The Revival Hour – “Hiding Your Present from You”
11. Sam Amidon – “Lucky Cloud”
12. Devendra Banhart – “Losing My Taste For The Night Life”
13. Phosphorescent – “You Can Make Me Feel Bad”
14. Blood Orange – “Is It All Over My Face & Tower Of Meaning”
15. Scissor Sisters – “That’s Us/Wild Combination”
16. VEGA INTL. – “Arm Around You”
17. Oh Mercy – “Planted A Thought”
18. Lonnie Holley – “Hop On Down (Interlude)”
19. Cults – “Being It”
20. Richard Reed Parry – “Just A Blip”
21. Glen Hansard – “I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face”
22. Thao & The Get Down Stay Down – “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart”
23. The Autumn Defense – “Oh Fernanda Why”
24. Alexis Taylor – “Our Last Night Together”
25. Lonnie Holley – “The Deer In The Forest (Interlude)”
26. Redding Hunter – “Close My Eyes”