Listen: Team Spirit’s new single “Surrender”


Ayad Al-Adhammy could’ve had a succesful career playing keyboards with Passion Pit, but the allure of writing his own pop rock hooks was just too much for him to ignore. In 2012, he left the group to follow his whim, and thus Team Spirit was born. Since then, the band has gone on to put out last year’s self-titled EP, performed at the last two consecutive editions of SXSW, and landed a coveted slot at this month’s Riot Fest in Chicago. That latter gig will come in support of the band’s debut full-length, Killing Time, due out September 30th via VICE/Warner Bros.

The band’s latest single, “Surrender”, is an embodiment of Al-Adhammy’s power pop ambitions. Driving, arena rock-sized guitar riffs blare beneath a chorus of gang vocals and layers of “yeah yeahs,” celebrating the freedom that comes with youth. Al-Adhammy’s sings with a sense of reckless abandon, striking the same emotional core as Cheap Trick’s own  “Surrender”. It just may be the most uplifting thing you hear all day.

Listen in below.

For more from Killing Time, check out lead single “Teenage Heart”.

Killing Time Tracklist: 
01. Surrender
02. Satisfaction
03. Teenage Heart
04. Cool Guy
05. Different Changes
06. Closer
07. Think Its You
08. New Years Resolutions
09. King Bruce
10. Feeling