Listen to “When I Get My Hands On You”, written by Bob Dylan and performed by Marcus Mumford, Jim James, Elvis Costello, and more


As previously reported, an all-star contingency of folk rockers recently convened to create music for two dozen newly discovered lyrics written by Bob Dylan.

Entitled Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes, the 15-track collection is the culmination of two-plus weeks of studio time by My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Mumford and SonsMarcus Mumford, Elvis Costello, DawesTaylor Goldsmith, Carolina Chocolate Drops’ Rhiannon Giddens, and super producer T-Bone Burnett. The lyrics in question date back to 1967, taken from the same period that spurred the recording of Dylan’s iconic Basement Tapes.

In anticipation of the album’s release, the collective has already shared the Jim James-fronted “Nothing To It” and the Elvis Costello-led “Married To My Hack”. Today, Mumford takes over as frontman on “When I Get My Hands On You”. If the title sounds especially ambivalent, rest assured it’s a dynamic not entirely lost on this group of A-listers. Thanks to a combination of Mumford’s heartfelt croon, the gentle plucking of eerie strings and mandolin, and Dylan’s unique life perspective, the song is equally romantic and creepy. Lines like “Wherever you go on Earth/ You’ll always have me as your man” will make your heart sing with joy and serve as a gentle reminder to always lock your doors at night.

Watch its accompanying lyric video below, which features an animated woman’s journey through a surreal urban center.

Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes will arrive November 11th via Electromagnetic Recordings/Harvest Records. The album is being accompanied by a Showtime documentary set to debut on November 21st.  According to a press release, director Sam Jones’ Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued presents an “exclusive and intimate look at the making of Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes set against the important and historical cultural backdrop of Bob Dylan’s original Basement Tapes.”

Meanwhile, Dylan himself will release the entire collection of The Basement Tapes on November 4th. The Basement Tapes Complete: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11 spans a whopping 138 songs, including 30 never known to have existed.

Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes Tracklist:
01. Down On The Bottom
02. Married To My Hack
03. Kansas City
04. Spanish Mary
05. Liberty Street
06. Nothing To It
07. Golden Tom – Silver Judas *
08. When I Get My Hands On You
09. Duncan and Jimmy
10. Florida Key
11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
12. Lost On The River #12
13. Stranger
14. Card Shark
15. Quick Like A Flash *
16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16 *
17. Diamond Ring *
18. The Whistle Is Blowing *
19. Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)
20. Lost On The River #20

* = Deluxe edition only