Rancid announce new album, Honor Is All We Know, share three songs


Punk icons Rancid will release their first album in five years on October 27th via Hellcat Records. Entitled Honor Is All We Know, the 14-track effort serves as the follow-up to 2009’s Let the Dominoes Fall.

Rancid’s eighth studio album overall, Honor Is All We Know was produced by Bad Religion member Brett Gurewtiz, who is not only the band’s former boss at Epitaph Records but also contributed to each of their previous seven LPs to some degree. The collective recorded in Los Angeles at both the Red Star Studios and The Boat, a refurbished double-decker house boat owned by Flea.

According to a press release, “Honor Is All We Know is unique in that it is filled with growing insight of a band who has been doing this for a while now: It feels natural and organic, written without an agenda or bone to pick, rather the culmination of lives lived largely with a keen interest in the world and a sense of brotherhood.”

As our first taste, Rancid has shared a performance-centric video featuring three album tracks. “Collision Course” is a big, rollicking punk anthem that moves at 150 mph; the title track is a slightly more upbeat, almost danceable tune highlighted by Rancid’s trademark anthemic choruses; and “Evil’s My Friend” returns with gusto to the jangly ska undertones of 2003’s Indestructible. After all these hard-lived years, and even a rather significant break, Rancid stick to their formula of great licks and hooks and endless, sneering attitude.

Watch it below.

Honor Is All We Know Tracklist:
01. Back Where I Belong
02. Raise Your Fist
03. Collision Course
04. Evil’s My Friend
05. Honor Is All We Know
06. A Power Inside
07. In the Streets
08. Face Up
09. Already Dead
10. Diabolical
11. Malfunction
12. Now We’re Through With You
13. Everybody’s Sufferin’
14. Grave Digger

Here’s the album’s cover art:

rancid honor album Rancid announce new album, Honor Is All We Know, share three songs