Rush to mark 40th anniversary with massive 10-disc box set


Over the last four decades, Rush has earned a reputation for being one of rock’s best live acts. Appropriately, the band plans to commemorate its 40th anniversary with a massive new archival box set compiling its various concert films and two hours worth of unreleased performances.

Due out November 11th, R40 contains previously released concert videos Rush in Rio (2003), R30 (2009), Snakes & Arrows Live (2008), Time Machine 2011: Time in Cleveland (2011), and Clockwork Angels Tour (2013).

The bonus disc, meanwhile, is highlighted by Rush’s 1974 performance at Ontario’s Laura Secord Secondary School, which featured performances of three never-before-released songs in “I’ve Been Runnin'”, “The Loser”, and a cover of Larry Williams’ “Bad Boy”.

(Read: Neil Peart is the Greatest Drummer of All Time)

Also featured on the bonus disc are five songs from the band’s 1976 gig at Passaic, New Jersey’s Capitol Theatre, a single performance of “Lock and Key” from the group’s 1988 Hold Your Fire tour, and eight songs from Toronto’s Molson Amphitheatre in 1997 (including a rarely performed run-through of all seven parts of their 1976 suite “2112”), as well as footage from their 2013 induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame featuring appearances from Foo Fighters’ Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins (via Rolling Stone).

The box set also contains a 52-page hardback book featuring photos of memorabilia and from concerts throughout their career.

R40 will be available on both DVD and Blu-ray. Below, watch the official trailer.

R 40 Bonus Disc Tracklist:

Laura Secord Secondary School 1974

01. Need Some Love
02. Before and After
03. Best I Can
04. I’ve Been Runnin’
05. Bad Boy
06. The Loser
07. Working Man
08. In the Mood (partial)

Capitol Theatre 1976

01. Bastille Day
02. Anthem
03. Lakeside Park
04. 2112
05. Fly By Night / In the Mood


Lock and Key

Molson Amphitheatre 1997

01. Limelight
02.”Half the World
03. Limbo
04. Virtuality
05. Nobody’s Hero
06. Test for Echo
07. Leave That Thing Alone / Drum Solo
08. 2112 (all seven parts)


I Still Love You Man

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction, 2013

01. 2112 featuring Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz
02. Tom Sawyer
03. The Spirit of Radio